On Games

5 03 2011

Video games and me go way back.  Back when I was little, I use to love to go to the arcade.  I grew up in Wichita, Kansas, and there were several arcades across the city; but where I went most was Bally’s Arcade or Midway.  I can still here the sounds of the machines in my head… I’d go and play games such as Jungle Hunt, Kangaroo, Disks of Tron and the like. One of my favorites was Dragon’s Lair.  In fact, I liked DL so much that’s I’d sneak away from home just to watch the machine’s eye-catch.

Yes, I use to stare at this for hours.

During this Golden Age of Video Games I didn’t own a game machine.  The two big ones at the time were Atari and Colico.  I used to go into Sears and lust over the Colicovision they had on display there; but my cousin owned an Atari, so that’s what I played.  I actually sort of dug the ET game for it… or maybe I didn’t, it’s been a long time.  I do remember trying to figure out what to do in Raiders of the Lost Ark and thinking I wasn’t old enough to comprehend where I should go or what I should do.  Later in life I discovered that no one else could figure it out either and that Raiders of the Lost Ark was a horrible game.

Even now I still have no idea what’s going on.

Around 1986, I finally got my own machine… a Nintendo Entertainment System, or NES.  I convinced my father that since the system came with two games (Super Mario Brothers and Duck Hunt) I would never need to get any games beyond those.  I think I actually believed that.  I only ever owned a total of four games for the NES: Super Mario, Duck Hunt, Donkey Kong Classics, and The Legend of Zelda.  Sure, I rented some and would borrow games from friends from time to time; but I only ever owned four.  Later I sold my NES to a video game store called Funcoland because I saw one of their commercials and I thought I would get mad cash… maybe even enough to get a Super Nintendo.  I think I got $35.

Pretty convincing, huh?

Eventually I got my Super Nintendo, and more.  In my life I’ve owned an MSX,  Sega Genesis, Sega CD, Turbografx-16, Turbo Duo, Panasonic 3DO, Atari Jaguar, Neo Geo cart system, Neo Geo CD, Sega Saturn, NEC PC-FX, Sony Playstation, Nintendo 64, Sega Dreamcast, Playstation 2, Nintendo Game Cube, an Xbox, and Xbox 360, Sony Playstation 3, and Nintendo Wii.  And those are just the machines that you hook up to your TV.  I won’t do a laundry list of handhelds.

The reason I’m talking about this is because I’ll be talking about games here at times… mostly old ones, because those are the ones I like best.  Let this serve as an introduction to me and my life with video games.


Actions

Information

One response

13 04 2011
Mark E

If you’re interested, a friend & I took a cassette player into the arcade in Albert Lea back in the very early 80s and recorded a cassette full of arcade games. Kangaroo, Xevious, Ladybug, Jungle Hunt, Donkey Kong…if it’s from that era I probably have it, if I can just find that cassette!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

