I Love Games: For the love of God!

20 03 2011

God bless you PS3. I never had this problem with a Super Nintendo.

So I booted up my PS3 last night and noticed there was an update.  When I tried to download it, the status bar would reach 60% and then crap out on me.  I tried several times downloading the update from Sony’s Japan site and their American site.  I even tried running a repair disk function on the hard drive… but no dice.  Seems like there must be some corrupt data on the internal disk drive (or at least that’s what the internet tells me).  So I backed up all my data to an external drive and am reformatting the system.  A process that my PlayStation 3 tells me will that 18 hours.  18 HOURS.  I miss the old days when you just inserted the cartridge or CD and the thing just worked.  Which bring me to the topic at hand (since I have 18 hours to go until my machine works again… IF it works again (I have some minor doubts)).

Today after work (because of the earthquake and tsunami and nuclear meltdown) I decided to drop by my local Hard Off to see what used old game stuff they have.  I like to look.  And today if I didn’t get knocked off my feet by a behemoth of a by-gone era.  A Panasonic LaserActive.

Boo. I scare your wallet.

The LaserActive was a combination laserdisk player/ game console that was sold in 1993.  I remember my friend Matt talking about it in the 1994 -1995 time frame.  It was one of those pie-in-the-sky kind of things.  The main system (i.e. laserdisk player) cost $1600.  If you wanted it to play games, you had to buy “packs” for it that looked like big internal CD-ROM drives.  They made 2 game “packs”, one that allowed you to play Mega Drive/ MegaCD games (that’s Sega Genesis and Sega CD games to all you Americans), and one that allowed you to play PC Engine Hu Cards and Super CD Rom games (TurboGrafx and TurboCD in the States).

The top pack plays Sega Games, the bottom one plays NEC games.

Additionally, each pack unlocked the ability to play a type of video game laserdisc.  The Sega one let you play MegaLD’s and the NEC one LD-Rom 2’s.  Back in the day, each pack cost $400 each.  So that means this set-up cost some guy $2400+ at one time (this one came with 5 games).  Something I got for $150.  And $150 is a steal because the NEC pack alone can run upwards of $400 used.

On the left is a LD-Rom 2 game. The right is a Mega LD. They're the size of records.

The LaserActive is the largest game console ever made.  It is HUGE.  It’s so bug, that I can’t fit it in my living room; there’s just no place for it.  It won’t fit under the TV.  It won’t fit beside the TV.  I guess I could put it on the floor, but then people would just trip over it.

So right now I have a PS3 that won’t won’t update and a LaserActive that won’t fit anywhere.  At least I haven’t started glowing.  Not yet anyways.


Actions

Information

2 responses

13 04 2011
Mark E

So you BOUGHT a laseractive?? I remember in the olden days when I was dreaming of buying an LD player I happened to visit a store that had one of the dozen or so Pioneer-Sega machines that were made. Thought it was a cool idea until I realized how much more it was than simply buying an LD player and a genesis… 😛

13 04 2011
HCK

I thought it was pretty cool too, until I played one. The load times when you play PC Engine CD games or Sega CD games is HILARIOUS >< But for such an expensive machine, you'd think they could have included an S-video out. The thing only puts out composite video.

Leave a Reply

