The Only Manga I Read Now

19 04 2011

Red Comics ICHIGO and SUMOMO

For those of you keeping score back home, I use to be a really big otaku.  Really big otaku.  I had a room full of posters, and comics, and video tapes, and magazines, and figures… but I ditched it all around 2002-ish when I decided to go to college for journalism.  Now I only pick up two comics, Ichigo and Sumomo.  That’s not to say I don’t like anime and manga any more; but I still have more nostalgia for the old stuff from the 1980s and early 1990s.  I started out with an interest in art, and it’s stayed with me.  In fact, you could say that my send film, Ayaka is Your Angel, is very anime inspired.

Two things that have stayed with my, though, are my love for Urusei Yatsura and of 内山亜紀 (Aki Uchiyama).  I still get a kick out of watching the adventures of Lum, Ataru, Mendou, and the gang. They can always make me smile and sometimes think.  Urusei Yatsura Move 2: Beautiful Dreamer is a title I list among my favorite and most influential films. In my opinion, it’s Mamaru Oshii’s best work (I think now he’s most famous for Ghost in the Shell).  And I love Uchiyama-sensei’s art style, but I prefer his lolita works as opposed to his later volumes.  I’m still collecting his works as I find them used, as they have long since gone out of print.  I even tolerate his diaper fetish.

Aki Uchiyama is the bomb, yo!


Actions

Information

2 responses

20 04 2011
Linda

I remember when you first discovered Lum. Who would know what the future held for you.

20 05 2011
Mark E

Rumiko Takahashi is the greatest and Urusei Yatsura is, IMO, the most beautifully drawn of all her anime.

Leave a Reply

