Metal Gear Solid 3D REVISITED

31 12 2011

Earlier in the day, I voiced my dissatisfaction with the control scheme chosen for the game Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater 3D for the Nintendo 3DS.  You can read the post directly below this one.  Almost immediately, my opinion provoked this visceral reaction from what appears to be a die hard Metal Gear fan:

“Replace the word “Rant” with “Talking f****** bull****” and you would have been more accurate. You have clearly never played a Metal Gear game before (and if you have you have obviously forgotten what they are like). Long dialogue sections are very prominant in these games… don’t like them? Fine, just skip them. Or stop playing the game. Admittedly, the controls can be confusing if you have never played one before…. but they are fantastic once you get past the strange layout. Just… eurgh.”

I opened up a dialog with the fellow, and we came to terms; but it got me thinking.  I want to like Metal Gear 3D.  Then I remembered that Konami, the publishers of the game, had publicly stated that Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater 3D would be compatible with Nintendo’s second analog stick add-on device, the “Slider Pad” (who names these things?).  So I ran out and got one.  May I present to you what happens when you play Metal Gear 3D with the dual analog “Slider Pad”:

Just to back myself up, here is a list of games from the website videogamesblogger.com that have officially been announced to be compatible with the “Slider Pad” attachment: Monster Hunter 3G, Resident Evil Revelations, Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D, Ace Combat 3D: Cross Rumble, Dynasty Warriors VS, Kingdom Hearts 3D, and Monster Hunter 4.

Now, here’s video of a game that supports the “Slider Pad” and uses it enhance an already excellent playing experience.  Resident Evil Revelations:

If by the time the game ships the second analog stick is implemented half as well as it has been in Resident Evil, Metal Gear Solid 3 3D will offer a true and joyful console gaming experience on-the-go.  Without the second analog stick, I still stand by my original statement that the controls are as wonky as hell.

 

***UPDATE***

Reader srupert99 clued me in on how to activate the second slider in Metal Gear.  Here’s what you do:  once the game begins (meaning when you can control Snake) push the START button.  Next, choose OPTIONS.  Now scroll down to the 11th option, this should look like two kanji.  Select it, and it will ask you to calibrate the slider pad.  The is done my pushing the left and right trigger buttons and rotating the second analog slider many, many times (OK, it recommends you do it 2 or 3 times).  When you’re gone, push the kanji on the lower right part of your screen.  If you choose the left side kanji, you’ll turn your slider pad off and have to calibrate again.  Now exit to the game screen and, just as I predicted, you have a portable Metal  Gear Solid that plays just like the console versions.  Hallelujah!


Actions

Information

2 responses

31 12 2011
jdh5153

I still can’t figure out if I’d ever want to play a 3DS…

31 12 2011
James Bacon

I would be extremely upset if the website listed MGS as compatible, but it ended up not being. You handled yourself a lot better than I would have. Of course, RE working so smoothly would certainly have been a consolation. I don’t yet own a 3DS, but I’m looking forward to buying one.

And as far as the disagreement you had, just because they’ve been doing it that way (Konami re: MGS) for the longest time, doesn’t make it a good design decision.

Leave a Reply

