The Chicken Sandwich of Death

26 01 2012

I knew this thing existed in America, Happy Chicken photographer Jarod Hodge told me about it.  We joked and said that this kind of thing would never see the light of day in Japan.  I even told some Japanese friends about it, and they had a hard time believing such a thing could even exist; but it does, and it has invaded these foreign shores.

KFC's Chicken Fillet Double

I know, a shocker, right?  That was my girlfriend’s response when I texted her this picture.  In America, it’s called the Double Down… 610 calories, 37 grams of fat, 1880 milligrams of salt, and 150 milligrams of cholesterol.  In Japan it’s the Chicken Double Fillet, but the devil in the details remain the same.  A chicken sandwich minus the bread, comprised wholly of two fried chicken breasts, two slices of bacon, a slice of swiss and a slice of American cheese, and mayonnaise.

Hey... where'd that Kentucky go that used to be here...?

Right now the KFC in Ikebukuro is all about the Chicken Double Fillet.  They’ve redone the entire store around it, outside…

What to order... it's so tough to decide!

…and in.  In fact, from looking at the menu you’d think that was all they served: Chicken Double Fillet all day, all the time.  Of course you can still order off their regular menu; but from looking around the eating area, the meal of the day was the Chicken Sandwich of Death.  So of course, being fully baptized in the field of journalism, I felt it was my duty to report to you just what the heck was going on… and I ordered one.

The grease is seeping through the wrapping. That's always a good sign.

Unwrapped, the grease neatly pools around the "sandwich".

The Japanese have a good system for eating burgers.  They almost always wrap it in the paper it’s covered with so their hands don’t get messy, and conversely so if their hands are dirty, they don’t contaminate the sandwich.  I, being an American, just unwrap the thing and grab it outright.  That was a bad idea in this case.

I have mayo on my hand and I haven't even taken a full bite yet.

I can say, without a doubt, that the Chicken Double Fillet is the absolute worst chicken sandwich I’ve had in my entire life.  And this coming from a guy who ate chow hall food in Iraq for two years.  In fact, as I started eating it my brain kept telling me “maybe this isn’t such a good idea,” and my brain usually doesn’t do that kind of thing.  I didn’t even know it had that capability until today.  I think it’s safe to say that Chicken Double Fillet is doomed for failure in Japan.  It’ll sell fast at first (Japanese people love to try new things) but in the long hall it’s destined to go the way of Burger King and Wendy’s in Japan.  What’s that you say?  Burger King and Wendy’s are back?  There’s just no accounting for taste, I guess.  But I really could go for a Wendy’s Spicy Chicken Fillet… now there’s a chicken sandwich.

I think the Chicken Double Fillet may have just claimed it's first victim.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

